Welcome! And what the heck is a Black Tent Temple?

Welcome. And thank you for visiting my page.

As stated in my bio page I was given the task by the Dark Mother to create a “Temple”. Well, right away my brain went to the idea of a physical worship space. But then, just a few days ago on the blog https://blackstonemonastery.wordpress.com/, I read about this Priestess’ idea of a Black Tent Temple.

The Black Tent Temple is inspired by the Red Tent Movement. The Red Tent is sacred space created by/for women to celebrate their womanhood and comes from an idea posited by the book “The Red Tent” by Anita Diamant.

The author of the Black Stone Monastery page wrote about how she has successfully created lovely dark sacred space to go deep, to explore “endarkenment” (more on that later), to mourn, to worship Deity, to scry, and other activities.

Well, this was it! I knew this was what the Dark Mother had asked for. It does not require huge monetary investment, is easily moved from one place to another, and just seemed right. And it will be for any gender expression.

So, I will be presenting a Black Tent Temple both here in Madison and also at a Pagan event in August.

Be sure to check back here for photos and updates. Also, I highly recommend visiting the Black Stone Monastery blog for more ideas.

Blessings.

5 responses to “Welcome! And what the heck is a Black Tent Temple?

  1. Thanks for letting me know about your new blog! It’s lovely to see this level of enthusiasm, and I look forward to reading more about your Black Tent Temple. I wish you the best with this and I’m very happy to hear that my work inspired you.

    A small correction: my role is not that of a priestess; I’m a Pagan monastic and ritual dancer, and the Black Tent Temple is an offering I provide to my community in the context of my service learning path.

    Thank you, too, for the kind words about my blog!

    Here’s a direct link to the post I made in response to your query. Might be useful for future reference. 🙂

    https://blackstonemonastery.wordpress.com/2015/05/20/the-black-tent-temple-a-space-for-incubation-and-endarkenment/

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Black Tent Temple: A Space for Incubation and Endarkenment | The Black Stone Hermitage

  3. Pingback: The Black Tent Temple Project Update | The Black Stone Hermitage

  4. Pingback: Interview with Danica Swanson, resident hermit and CEO (Creative Endarkenment Overseer) | The Black Stone Hermitage

Leave a Reply

